Digital Citizenship

Hello again! So our task for ECMP355 was to blog about “Digital Citizenship”; Of course the topic is pretty complex so I decided to focus on what digital citizenship is, why does it matter, and how it related to my future in the classroom…

This post is a little late, I had to  research a lot on Digital Citizenship and educate myself more.

When I heard the words “Digital Citizenship” I was like WHAT? What is that? I probably heard it before but never really clued in to what it actually meant.

???

Photo Credit: unclefuz Flickr via Compfight cc

Digital Citizenship

So, I had to educate myself a little on what exactly “digital citizenship” meant. According to Teachthought.com Digital Citizenship is “the quality of a response to membership in a digital community” would be a good first crack at the definition.” The article is actually pretty great, it gave me a break down on what digital citizenship is and why it is becoming the hot topic in todays generation. Now that our younger generations are becoming more and more digitally literate it is so important to educate ourselves and our students on Digital Citizenship and practicing its 9 principles (or elements).

The Nine Elements: 

  1. Digital Access
  2. Digital Commerce
  3. Digital Communication
  4. Digital Literacy
  5. Digital Etiquette
  6. Digital Law
  7. Digital Rights & Responsibilities
  8. Digital Health & Wellness
  9. Digital Security (self-protection)

All nine elements are super important, especially when educating your students on what “Digital Citizenship” is. Technology is becoming more and more with each generation. Many teachers including myself use different sources of technology inside the classroom already, and I think it is so important for us to learn and practice digital citizenship.With each day passing technology is definitely changing the world around us. It seems today that the digital world has vastly grown from when educators first started their teaching careers.

When reading about digital citizenship and how it relates to my future in the classroom I was surprised at how little I knew and how much I need to learn about it. I think it is so important for our educators (schools) to help steer our students in the right direction when it comes to this new world. I think whether we agree with having certain tools of technology inside the classroom it is important to educate our students because they will encounter it one way or another.

So what should we as teachers should know about Digital Citizenship?

Well, we should educate ourselves on Digital Citizenship and ways to Educate our students on it. And most of practicing it ourselves! PRACTICE WHAT YOU PREACH… RIGHT?

The most important thing about educating on Digital Citizenship is making sure that we are teaching our students how to be “responsible, respectful, kind and safe online”.

 

I had come across a tweet by @Kevinhonecutt that I really liked!

“Our kids are growing up on a digital playground and no one is on recess duty.”

Kevin Honeycutt

I thought this quote was deep and so true. So many educators/parents (myself included) are not educated on how Important Digital Citizenship is. It is important to educate and pass this knowledge on to others!

Anyway, until next time bloggers!!

Sky 🙂

2 thoughts on “Digital Citizenship

  1. I love the Tweet that you put in this post. I agree with you that I also have a lot to learn when it comes to technology. Young students are learning so much so quickly when it comes to technology. As teachers, we need to almost be ahead of the game. This is a little overwhelming for sure. Thanks for the great information!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

